I wrote about my growing workaholicism about half a year ago.

It didn’t get better.

The last two projects (UTF8 and hg) are still not finished. But a new project in the last 3 months or so has been the main cause for evening logins.

I mentioned it in that old post: a complete remake of our GUI using JIDE docking framework.

It’s a greater project than anything I’ve ever worked on. I’ll truly be proud to say that I’m the creator of something functional and useful, even just for those a few hundred users of our system.

But that’s not why I’m writing this post.

I re-realized that I work this hard because it’s easy.

Easier than life.

When I’m programming, all I have to worry about is programming.

Getting a computer to do exactly what I want it to is not trivial.

But it’s many orders of magnitude easier than flushing our living room HVAC with dozens of buckets full of rusty water and pray it will work again on the coldest day of the year so far.

And it’s infinitely easier than getting Valentina to go potty when she’s watching Dora.

It’s only harder than one thing.

That’s why I’m writing this post instead of programming.

I can’t fight the natural law for the path of least resistance, which guarantees local optimum but usually at the cost of global optimum.

