All of my iTunes library is on the machine (Dell) in the living room, but I want to view/search the library on my main desktop machine (Silent). Using the “iTunes Library.itl” or importing the XML file doesn’t work, since Silent doesn’t see any music file.

My plan is to move the library to a different drive letter on Dell other than what Silent already has: C, D, E, F. Then I can mount it on Silent using the same drive letter, then Silent’s iTunes should work.

Turns out it’s not as easy as I thought. The web has pretty clear instructions for relocating the library, but it’s usually for moving it to a different HD. What I need to do on Dell is to change the drive letter, and let iTunes know it. Here are the steps:

  1. Do the regular things to consolidate library: check “Keep iTunes Music folder organized” and “Copy files to iTunes Music folder when adding to library” options, then do Consolidate Library. Afterwards, all music files are under D:\music\iTunes.
  2. Change the drive letter to M, and set iTunes music folder to M:\music\iTunes. Now iTunes can NOT find any file, because its database still shows all files at D:\music\iTunes.
  3. Open “iTunes Music Library.xml”, replace all d: by m:. Delete iTunes Library.itl, and import the XML file.
  4. iTunes keeps the library files and album artwork in My Music, so I used Tweak UI to change My Music from the usual place within My Documents to M:\Music.
  5. For whatever reason iTunes failed to find some of the artworks, so I did a “Get Album Artwork”.
